Introduction

Welcome to my new blog! I look forward to sharing and exchanging ideas with you.

I am a seasoned philanthropy professional with extensive experience in donor relations, stewardship, leadership giving, planned giving and campaign giving. I'm a strategic thinker and planner. I'm passionate about exploring new ways to help donors connect their values and philanthropy with creative and effective ways to fund our shared mission. And I really like debunking conventional wisdom about fundraising.

I have an undergraduate degree in political science from Southern Connecticut State University and a law degree from Case Western Reserve School of Law. I have worked at a number of respected advocacy organizations, including the ACLU and International Rescue Committee. I am currently the Director of Philanthropic Planning at International Planned Parenthood Federation/Western Hemisphere Region (however, all opinions expressed in this blog are completely my own).

I also work with individuals and families to build values-based philanthropic plans; engage younger family members; evaluate and recommend programmatic priorities for family giving; and help people develop ethical wills and legacy plans.